penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

In Memoriam

leave a comment »

A penny saved is a penny earned.

And a penny is a lot of money, if you haven’t got a penny.

But I won’t be pinching pennies any longer.

I won’t have two pennies to rub together.

I won’t be penny wise and pound foolish.

And I won’t buy penny stocks

For that bad penny I waited for has turned up.

Yes, that penny finally dropped.

And it’s making me feel like a penny, waiting for change.

Because I can’t put in my two cents any more.

I can’t be in for a penny, in for a pound.

I can’t give you a penny for your thoughts.

I can’t find a penny and pick it up and all the day, have good luck.

And I can’t walk down Penny Lane any more.

Nota:  This collection was put together in honour of the last day the penny will be officially distributed in Canada.  Our blog will still keep its name despite inflation.

Written by pennyinacastle

February 4, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Posted in Poems

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

