penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

The Book of Awesome

leave a comment »

A couple of Christmases ago, a lovely friend of mine gave me the Book of Awesome for a present.  I always appreciate her bookish gifts as she gives me things I would not normally think of trying, and I am delightfully surprised by her depth of choice – and her knowledge of who I am.

After a few false starts, I finished the Book of Awesome a few days ago. It’s based on a blog site and the premise that we should appreciate the small things in life which really make it worth living.  The ideas span everything:  from the feeling of the cool side of the pillow, to wearing clothes just out of the dryer, to how to get the most out of an all-you-can eat restaurant buffet.  As someone who believes that it’s the little things in life we should appreciate, I thought this book would be right up my alley.

I laughed frequently as I was reading because many of the chapters reflected my life so perfectly.

In the end though, the book reminded me of that “all-you-can-eat” experience. On a few of occasions, I tried to read a few chapters in one sitting and felt bloated, without any nutritional value.  I thought the premise was good, and a number of ideas were fun. However, the narration, which started out as cute and breezy, quickly turned sugary and then just plain grating.

I soon realized the problem – like a good buffet, you have to pace yourself with this book. You can’t read it all in one sitting.  Which makes me think, this is probably why it makes for a better blog-site where you are fed a few ideas at a time – than a book.  My other thought was that it is probably a good “bathroom” book. You know the kind – you leave it among your other Readers Digest and Vanity Fair mags that you keep when you don’t have a lot of time for commitment but want a quick hit of humour or gossip.

I would like to thank my friend whose gift helped me to see the benefits of intergenerational dancing and illegal naps.  Please don’t be offended if you see it in a stack next to the sink.

Final verdict: Buy it second hand to amuse those using your bathroom (in a good way).

Written by pennyinacastle

February 12, 2013 at 4:42 am

Posted in books

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

