penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

Check the pockets

leave a comment »

I’ve laundered a lot of money in my time

But never made a dime

Kleenex shreds to konfetti

And clings to everything

Ball points explode their ink

Crayons melt their wax

And your white shirt becomes a rainbow

To remind me of forgetfulness

Dinky cars and sharp rocks

Crash crazily around and around

In an endless race

Leaving a dent or two

Sea shells and sticks crumble

(Let’s not talk about the worms or hapless bugs)

Trapped in a muddy mess

Glitter unglued covers everything

Coming out with a puff of lint

Parking tickets and business cards

A mushy unreadable ball

Next time I’ll check the pockets

And since I shrunk my wool skirt

I will read the label too.

Written by pennyinacastle

March 19, 2013 at 10:18 am

Posted in Poems

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

