penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

Blossoms

leave a comment »

This year, while time continued to zip by at its normal pace, spring was slow to come.

This past winter seemed to drag on, including a snow storm in the middle of April that left me feeling abandoned by Mother Nature.  My head knows that the seasons will always change, but this year, in my heart I thought She may have forgotten us.

When it did arrive though, it did so in style.  All the spring flowers, all the trees bloomed at once.  The results have been spectacular.

Carpets of dandelions covered the lawn a sunny yellow. Tiny wild violets hid in the grass.  Purple periwinkle winked in more civilized gardens. Tulips nodded.  The scent of lilacs was dizzying.  The apple blossoms came out covering the trees in white and pink blooms. I don’t think I have ever seen so many. 

They remind me of a time when I was a little girl my daughter’s age playing in local fields and playgrounds.  We stripped the meadows of flowers and trees of blossoms for pretend fairy parties and weddings.  We put them in our hair and made bouquets.  Petals fell like confetti, whirling on the wind.

This year, more than ever, I have noticed the blossoms of spring.  It could be because of the overly long, hard winter.  It could be the passage of my age – winter seems to seep deeper into my bones and take more time and sunshine to thaw out.  I think though, that the most likely reason is that I am acutely aware that for some people I know – friends and family – there is a strong possibility that this may be the last spring for them – or at best there may not be many springs left.  As time goes on, there seem to be more of them.  I wonder how they feel with the turn of each season, each month, each day.

Who knows what lies ahead for the future for any of us really? 

So this spring, so late in coming, I have taken more time to take in the beauty of the blossoms. To note the new leaves as they unfurl a fresh green.  To take time to see and smell the flowers.

This year, there seemed to be more Scillia – my favourite spring flower – than ever under our oak tree in our backyard.  Their fanciful common name, Glory of the Snow, suits them well.  Dark green leaves and bright blue fragile flowers spring up in the dark damp earth just after the snow disappears. They only last a matter of days before their leaves flatten in mats and their flowers turn to seed pods that pop when stepped on. They disappear and are forgotten long before summer arrives.

I was struck by how much we are like this little blue flower beside the giant oak, countless years old.  Our lives are short and brilliant against the longer scale of time, but each year, each generation brings a new hope.

This year, I collected some of the seed pods.  I spread some a bit further in our yard – a little more to look forward to next year.  Others I gave away to people, in the hopes that they will be here to see them next spring.

Written by pennyinacastle

May 22, 2013 at 2:55 am

Leave a Reply

