penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

The Piano Recital

leave a comment »

ABCDEFG

Mom has her camera trained on me

I’m so nervous I can barely see

How many riffs on Twinkle Little Star

Can you handle before it goes too far?

(And Uncle Bob goes running for the car!)

GFEDCBA

I take a gulp and begin to play

These lessons aren’t worth what my parents pay

Fingers fumble across the score

The father in the front row is starting to snore

Maybe I should have practiced a little more

ABCDEFG

Now I’m playing out of key

My sister is making faces at me

I start to wander through my head

I sure do wish I could play like Fred

I wish that I had stayed in bed

GFEDCBA

This piano stuff isn’t going my way

If I just give up is that okay?

Not many more notes and I’ll be off the hook

Oops, my teacher shot me a dirty look

Next time I will practice from the book

ABCDEFG

I cross my leg, I cross my knee

I really should have thought to go pee

Darn I hit that last note wrong

I hope I make it to the end of the song

Already this has gone on far too long

GFEDCBA

…And that’s how it goes on recital day.

********************************

Nota: My kids had their piano recital recently.  The kids did great and I loved every minute of it.  But I wondered what their perspective was of this experience…and this silly rhyme popped into my head…

Written by pennyinacastle

July 12, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Posted in Poems

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

