penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

Sinterklaas

leave a comment »

From the Deck of Sinterklaas’ Boat

“Horse back or bust”

December 6, 2013

1 Dyke Place

Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Dear children:

Hope that the past year finds you well.  You all look like you are growing up to be fine and strong.  I looked at you in your beds and you must be at least six inches taller than the last time I saw you!  Do you grow when my horse Poinsettia is not looking?

My brother Santa and some of the Tooth fairies said I had to get with the program and get on-line.  So I thought I would do my letter on the computer this year – but it is just not the same.

Speaking of Tooth Fairies – Stuntboy, on my way here Trudy flew by and she tells me you have lost TWO TEETH.  Unbelievable!  I would give you two, but it looks like you are well taken care of and the new ones are already growing.  You have a good Tooth Fairy in Trudy.

I hope that you have all been good – we have been watching and so far, I say not so bad. Spanky – I hear you don’t like school.  I understand – it is not easy to do something new. But sometimes there is no choice and we need to do the best we can.   I know you can do it – keep trying hard to enjoy everyday.  I visit many children around the world who wish they could go to school and learn important things like you do.

Your mom and dad have sent me (and my Brother Santa) several letters saying that they are worried you are not warm enough in the evening. I see you shivering in your beds so I am sending you something that I hope will keep you toasty on a cold winters’ night.   I’m also sending you a treat for the holidays – although I know that the three of you are already sweet enough.

Poinsettia has told me we need to set sail.  Looking forward to seeing you next year.

A little something for your shoe and for you too!

Sint Nicolaas

Written by pennyinacastle

December 6, 2013 at 4:33 am

Posted in Random thoughts

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

