penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

Dear Santa…

leave a comment »

From the Desk of

Santa Claus

Being Nice is Nicer

Address:

1 Santa Claus Lane

North Pole, Arctic

Dear Diva  and Stuntboy and Spanky:

Hello to all three of you!  My goodness and Christmas Night!  You are all getting so big and tall I can hardly recognize you.  You must be growing while my elves aren’t looking – and that is saying something because those elves are always watching (seriously, it’s hard to get a moment’s peace with those guys around).   Trudy the Tooth Fairy says hi too – I hear she was by for a visit for not one but TWO teeth.  Way to go Stuntboy!  My brother Sinter Klaas also said he paid a visit close to the same time – he said he had never seen anything like it.  I hear though that there is no need to deliver two teeth in your stocking because they are coming along nicely.

I checked my list twice (okay maybe three times) and I can see you are all in the “nice” category.  I especially saw that you were good at church this evening.   This is so wonderful – church is an important time to celebrate what Christmas is really all about – Jesus coming into the world and being the greatest gift for us all.

I hope you can keep up all the good behaviour all year long.  Spanky – like my brother Klaas, I have heard through the elf-vine that school is tough for you.  Believe me though when I tell you that school is the most important thing right now – and many children would give anything for school to be their Christmas present this year.  Education really is a gift.

Diva, I’m so sorry to hear that you are ill this year.  It’s worse than  a sled sick reindeer to be going through what you are right now.  I really hope you will be better soon – although the true miracles are not my department – that is up to the Big Guy to deliver.  And sometimes we gather strength when things don’t go according to plan.  The main thing is to try to get some rest.

I’ve left a few things behind that I hope you like.

Diva, I know you have asked for a sewing machine.  And Stuntboy, I know you have expressed an interest in learning how to sew as well.  That is so great!  I don’t know what I would do if the Missus and I couldn’t sew to fix the holes in my clothes from chimney related accidents (you don’t want to know) and to ensure the reindeer traces all kept in shape.  Ho, ho, ho, I’ll bet you never knew we were BOTH designers for Stella McCartney (it’s a good side line during the down season).

The problem is that  a sewing machine is simply too heavy – we don’t have enough ballast and magic glitter to cover that.  We are bringing a couple of other options to try out for now – we  hope you like them.  In the meantime, maybe your mom and dad can source an option more locally.

I have also heard that you all love to READ.  Stuntboy – I hear in particular that you have been wishing for some good books.  I’ve left a few things that I am hoping you might like in that department (at least enough until your next trip to the library ho, ho, ho!)  Keep up the good work with the reading – it will open new and unexpected worlds to you.

I brought a few other unexpected things – I really hope you like them.

Speaking of awesome gifts – you should thank your dad for the skating rink he is working on right now.  It’s a lot of fun, but at the same time, it’s a lot of work for him.  He loves  you so much and I know this is a special gift he wants to give especially to you.

I want to thank you so much for thinking of me and my reindeer by leaving out a snack for us all.  I LOVE chocolate so it is always a good choice (and who knew they made probiotic cookies in such a pretty shape?).  I hear that your Nana made the special gingerbread man plate – she did a fine job, and I love it!

Thank you as well for the treat for the reindeer – not everybody thinks of them and they get hungry as they traverse the globe.   A little snack is really what they need.  Thanks again for hanging it from the hook. This year, Comet and Cupid competed to see who could jump the highest to retrieve it (guess who won?  I’m not going to tell you…).

Well, bust my buttons, I can see it is already after midnight (how the time flies).  I must get going or the Missus is going to wonder where I am – she always worries the sled is going to break down or hit a moose somewhere over northern no-where.  She really does look after me.

I hope to see you next year.  Stay on the good list!

Love,

S. Claus

Elf and Toy Builder in Chief

IMG_95262

Written by pennyinacastle

December 25, 2013 at 4:35 am

Leave a Reply

