penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

A delicate balance

with 2 comments

I have achieved work-life balance. How do I know when I have reached this zen-like state of enlightenment? I have found the following signs point the way:

– I have glitter in my black berry.
– I can expertly use a cell phone and epipen. Sometimes even at the same time. Although you might not want to stand near me…
– I have lipstick and dinky cars in my purse.
– Also crayons, pens, snacks, a note pad, grocery lists, wipes, stickers, books, and the afore-mentioned epi pen and phone.
– My purse is actually a backpack to carry all that stuff.
– My calendar has both play dates and work dates marked out.
– I also have six calendars to stay organized.
– I can juggle three children and three clients. In both official languages.
– I work through lunch so I can visit the teacher to find out what the latest classroom disaster or triumph as been.
– My work note book is the princess one I found at the last minute before that 9 am meeting. It has paper in it. Don’t judge me.
– The pen I use to sign the kids’ permission letters is one I swiped of my co-worker’s desk. It writes. Don’t judge me.
– I wear my son’s sk8ter toque to work. But I have a fancy work hat I wear between meetings. I am still working on achieving the fancy boots though.
– I am Wonder Woman – I regularly change from yoga pants to business suits in small closets, I have a cape (but no boots though remember?) and a magic lasso good for herding cats and wrangling children.
– I have dust buffalo at home and teetering towers of paper files at work. Both thrive on entropy and are getting bigger.
– I can bring home the bacon and fry it up in a pan. But why bother when I have take out on speed dial?
– I have perfected ignoring my children when work calls…and my meeting when the school calls.
– I quit work at 10 pm at night…so I can blog about the funny thing the kids said at breakfast that morning.

How do you know when you have reached that nirvana state of equilibrium between profession and family?

Written by pennyinacastle

March 22, 2014 at 3:34 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are correct, this is a perfect work-life balance! Awesome post!

    A.PROMPTreply

    April 16, 2014 at 11:52 pm

    • Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I had fun writing it. I was inspired by the glitter 🙂

      pennyinacastle

      April 17, 2014 at 2:59 am


Leave a Reply

