penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

Falling off the Wagon – Again

leave a comment »

Here we are, six months in from the New Year.  Just checking in to see how we are doing with the few resolutions I made at the start of the year (you know, just to keep it honest) and to catch up on a few things.  

I resolve

Trying to focus on the positive here. I had a few small goals at the beginning of the year to try to follow. So let’s go backwards.

Blogging

Well, I must admit, I have fallen by the wayside.  While I had hoped to write as much as I did last year, I’ve fallen far behind. Despite best efforts, blogging has had to take a back seat to other priorities.  And it will likely continue to fade further into the distance.  It has nothing to do with a lack of ideas or drive. It has more to do with knowing when to pick your battles.  I’m hoping to still pound away at the key board on a fairly regular basis though so keep watching this space.

Il faudra que j’aprenne français 

Well, I must admit this resolution has gone completely sidesways despite best efforts. I took two months of part-time training, but it wasn’t enough. I still did not reach the level I was looking for.  I’m hoping to take another crack at it in the fall.  I’m not done yet.  But being on full time training as to part time training may help.

I fell of the gym wagon several times

And I am continuing to fall over and over again. However, I did manage to finish my 10K – at the exact same time I did four years ago and twenty pounds heavier.  I’m trying to train to do a 5K with my daughter – without pounding her into the ground.  But it is still an uphill battle to get some kind of exercise routine nailed down and stick to it.

I keep volunteering

I’ve still been non-committally committed.  I try to make parent council meetings when I can.   I have helped out where possible – whether it be Sunday school, the school dance or doing traffic control at a road race.  There are still too many other priorities vying for attention right now and not enough time to make a serious effort at any one thing.  So I will just keep helping out at bakesales and lemonade stands for now.

I changed jobs

Well, almost a year in.  I still have a job. 

My mom still has cancer

And now there are no more treatment options.  We now live with the time we have – even if it is unknown. I continue to be thankful for everyday – we are blessed that she has been here to see the flowers of spring.  To feel the warmth of the sun after so much chemo created frost during the longest winter in a long time.

This is the most important resolution of all – to continue to be thankful and appreciate that time.  The rest – all the other priorities and things that might seem important – all fall away in the face of it.

I hope others in my life understand.

Written by pennyinacastle

June 17, 2014 at 3:12 am

Leave a Reply

