penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

Hallelujah

leave a comment »

Today, I opened the fifth door on my advent calendar and found…Handel’s Messiah.

I did not hear much of Handel’s Messiah until I was an adult.  I had a couple of songs on a compilation CD of mine. It seemed nice, but it was just background Christmas music.

Then I met my husband.  Who loves to sing, and sings beautifully in a tenor voice.  I am, on the other hand “singing challenged.” (Just this side of tone-deaf – although I’m sure there are others who would argue I’m on the other side of it.)

Over the many years that we have known each other and been married, he has taken part in our town’s annual “Come Sing Messiah” event.  Anyone who wants to go and sing the choral parts of Messiah shows up, sits with others who sing in the same range and then sings their hearts out for about two hours straight.  The organization that runs the event also hires an organist, an orchestra and fantastic soloists, who they come all dolled up in tuxes and ball gowns to sing.  They hold the event in one of the most acoustically (and visually) stunning churches in town.

I have been there, and I have seen, and I have heard. There is nothing like having 700 people sing the Hallelujah chorus at the top of their soul to give you hope.  It is a thing of awe and aural beauty.

I highly recommend it to help you get into the auditory spirit of the season – so much more so than the tinny jingle-jingle of the coins at the shopping mall. And if they don’t do it in your town, you should start a Come Sing Messiah of your own.

Written by pennyinacastle

December 6, 2014 at 3:21 am

Leave a Reply

