penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

Time

leave a comment »

Today I opened the twenty-third door of my advent calendar and found…time.

This past October my daughter and I were walking home from school. She turned to me and said “You know, we didn’t really get a summer holiday.”

I had to agree with her, “No, you are right, you did not.”

We had a difficult summer.  Things were challenging at work.  I had to stay focussed on taking care of my mother.  The two weeks of vacation I had, one was spent with her and the other spent grieving.  I have no regrets – you only ever have one opportunity to say good bye to a parent and I needed to make every moment count.

But I know that that decision has also had its consequences – particularly for my kids and husband.

And so, I decided I would take time over Christmas to spend with my family.

Today that holiday started. I am so very grateful have this time to spend with my family.  I feel calmer already – despite the fact that my children are practically vibrating with excitement.

To make the most of it, my daughter and I have come up with a bit of a vacation “bucket list.” I’m not sure we will get it all done – and frankly it’s not just about filling time but to ensure we have some fun stuff to do as well as have some quiet time together as a family.

Our list includes:

  • Visiting the library
  • Visiting the bookstore
  • Visiting the museum
  • Going for a swim at a public pool
  • Skating
  • Sewing
  • A winter picnic
  • Build a snow fort
  • See some Christmas lights (okay, we might have done that already).
  • Build a gingerbread house.
  • Go sledding
  • Sleep under the Christmas tree (thanks to my second cousin who gave me that idea).
  • Baking
  • Play dates with some friends
  • Go see a play
  • A winter scavenger hunt with coloured ice cubes in the snow.
  • See some movies (maybe even at the theatre).

We have ten days. Let’s make the most of them.

Written by pennyinacastle

December 24, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Leave a Reply

