penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

If a tree grows in a forest…

leave a comment »

Last year, around this time, we started to water a tree at the children’s school. We dubbed him “Speedy the Prospector Elm” and he became our pet tree.

The tree, while it has not grown mightily, did not die at our hands (I call that a win, considering my pirate nickname is “Black Thumb the Terrible Plant Destroyer”). It survived a winter.  And has lived to be thirsty for another summer.

This year, Speedy has been joined by 10 siblings.  Oh, they may be different species – maple, oak and one lonely pine (just to be different) – but they are brothers and sisters in future shade.  And in thirst.

When I heard about the new additions, I tried to imagine our water brigade parade going down the street, bucket in wagon, marching many, many times from our house to the school to keep the trees alive.

Thankfully the teacher and parent who helped acquire the trees came up with a better plan for this year.  They fixed the water spigots around the school. They also asked the City for some Treegators – a miraculous invention that slowly releases the water over time so we don’t need to go every day (I normally don’t shill for a product, but these things seem to be great – if they don’t get stolen).

Also, the parent and teacher have taken over most of the watering for the summer.

I am only responsible (for now) for one week.

Tonight, I learned about how to water our new litter of pet trees for our one week of responsibility.  Mostly it involves a key, some buckets and not letting an eight-year-old handle the hose.

As I stood there in the middle of a clover strewn field –  watching the sun set and my soaking wet children fall off the play structure – I thought, this is the good life (as long as a child does not break their arm).

I am living the great anonymous Greek proverb I read recently, “Society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they will never sit in.”

I will admit I’m an old lady.  My children will probably be parents themselves before these trees provide enough shade to protect future students.  But I’m in it for the long game – and I play to win.

Written by pennyinacastle

July 14, 2015 at 2:06 am

Posted in Random thoughts

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

