penny in a castle

A digital chapbook.

False spring

leave a comment »

Today, when I left for my walk, the half moon waned over the beginning of the sun rise.  Even though I know it is the darkest days of the year, today felt like spring.  The air was warm, and the skies were clear.  A few birds were awakening – although a murder of crows flew over head hinting at the real season.  Most of the leaves are gone, but today one could almost believe that new buds were just around the corner. I thought about how easy it would be to get up early every day, knowing that a beautiful world waited outside for you.  It will take so much more effort to escape the gravity of a warm bed and hot cup of coffee when the wind is howling and the temperature dips below 30 degrees.  These last few months though of getting up to greet the sun have made a difference and helped me get through the day.

As the sun rose, the sky was a flawless blue.  It was warm and the wind was gentle as I went for a second walk at lunch time. I didn’t really need a coat. At the end of the day though, the darkness spread its shadow early.  The sun was down and the stars were already waking up in the sky as I walked home.  It was still a beautiful evening – and the children skipped and chatted as we made our way up the street towards home.

The dark evenings tell me what I already know – it will be a short false spring. Knowing that these kind weather days will be gone in the blink of a week and that work will swing into action soon, I want to make sure I squeeze out all the sunshine I can.

Written by pennyinacastle

November 4, 2015 at 1:53 am

Posted in Random thoughts

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

